Board of Trustees

Thetford Academy is governed by a volunteer Board of Trustees.

The Thetford Academy Board of Trustees consists of no more than 21 members, including an alumni representative nominated by the Thetford Academy Alumni Association; town representatives nominated by the school boards of Thetford, VT, Strafford, VT, and Lyme, NH; and numerous members-at-large from the community. The TA Board of Trustees is a self-electing board. Trustees serve four-year terms, with the exception of the town representatives who are elected for one year at a time.

Board Meetings

The TA Board generally meets on the 2nd Thursday of the month with a meeting start time of 6:45 p.m. The board is taking a recess in July and August of 2023. The first meeting of the 2023-24 school year will take place on the third Thursday: September 21, 2023.

Meetings are open to the public. Starting September 2022, the TA Board returned to conducting its meetings in person in the TA library, with a link provided for those who want to participate virtually. Meeting agendas and the Head of School monthly report are available ahead of time at this link; meeting minutes are posted directly on this page.

Board Members

Francine A'Ness, PhD, P'21, P'27, Vice Chair
Professor, Guarini Institute for International Education, Dartmouth College
Peter Blodgett, Member
Library Director, Latham Memorial Library, Thetford (Retired)
Erin Boyd '05, Clerk
Senior Operations Associate, AARP-Vermont
Erika Hoffman-Kiess '86, Member
Executive Director, Green Mountain Economic Development Corporation
Marty Jacobs, PhD, P'14, P'15, P'16, Member
Social Impact Consultant, Self-Employed
Jeff Jamele, Town of Thetford Representative
Director of Information Technology, Concepts NREC
Darin Knaus, PHD, P'24, Town of Lyme Representative
Research Engineer, Creare LLC
Sue Stevens Kruse, Member
Math teacher, Director of Financial Aid, Head Advisor, The Mountain School of Milton Academy (Retired)
Christopher Leitao, Member
Project Engineer, Turner Construction Company
Karen MacPhee
Public Services Manager, Baker-Berry Library, Dartmouth College
Paul Mutone, Treasurer
Chief Financial Officer, Tuck School of Business, Dartmouth College
Sam Perry '01, Member
Director of Laboratory and Facilities Operations, Ensoma Biotech
John Piecuch, P'28, Member
Managing Director, Market Outreach, S&P Global Ratings
Catherine (Katie) Saunders, PHD, Member
Scientist, Dartmouth Health; Assistant Professor, The Geisel School of Medicine at Dartmouth
Sheilagh Smith, JD, P'20, Member
Attorney, Private Practice
Lucy Wagner '03, Member
Vice President, Bank of America Merrill Lynch
Ashley Woo, Chair
Education Researcher, Self-Employed



We set high expectations. We challenge all members of the school community to reach their highest potential.


We value initiative, courage and dedication. We take personal responsibility for the goals we set and work hard to achieve them.


We work and learn together. We see teachers as coaches, students as team members, families as partners, and learning as practice and action.


We provide individuals with personalized support and guidance. We care about each other and the larger community.


We respect differences among people. We welcome the contribution of varied perspectives to a rich and flexible school culture.