Sign up for TA news!

Sorry but there is some error in adding your email to our subscriber list.Please try again
Thanks for subscribing

Thetford Academy is an independent school with a public purpose. Our mission is to celebrate the unique worth of all students, to nurture their strengths, and to challenge them to fulfill their potential.

  • The Panthers are gearing up for the winter athletics season at TA. Tryouts are done, rosters are set, and practice is in session! This year, the varsity girls basketball team welcomes new leadership after the passing last spring of Eric Ward, the Panthers beloved coach and mentor. Former assistant coach,......

  • Since 2016, creative writing students at TA have had the unique opportunity to work with Vermont’s reigning poetry slam champion, author, poet, and performer Geof Hewitt. This year, Hewitt joined Mr. Mann’s Creative Writing and Emily Silver’s Composition for College and Career courses as an artist-in-residence. Over the course of......

  • Tonight (December 8) at 6:30 p.m., Thetford Academy’s talented student musicians will take the stage to present TA’s annual winter concert. The concert will feature performances by instrumental music classes, choral music class, and the Stage Band ensemble. TA’s instrumental students, led by instrumental music teacher Whit Van Meter, will......

TA By The Numbers

14

Average class size

80

Percent of graduates planning to attend a 2- or 4-year college

312

Students attend Thetford Academy

295

Acres in TA's campus

203

Years that Thetford has taught students in Vermont

67

Teachers and staff members at Thetford Academy

Upcoming Events at TA

Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
Tuesday November 1
Wednesday November 2
Thursday November 3
Friday November 4
Saturday November 5
Sunday November 6
Monday November 7
Tuesday November 8
Wednesday November 9
Thursday November 10
Friday November 11
Saturday November 12
Sunday November 13
Monday November 14
Tuesday November 15
Wednesday November 16
Thursday November 17
Friday November 18
Saturday November 19
Sunday November 20
Monday November 21
Tuesday November 22
Wednesday November 23
Thursday November 24
Friday November 25
Saturday November 26
Sunday November 27
Monday November 28
  • All Day Winter Athletic Season Begins
  • 11:00 am – 11:30 am College Visit-University of Maine (Farmington)
    College Visit-University of Maine (Farmington)
    11:00 am – 11:30 am

    Counseling Office

  • 6:30 pm – 7:30 pm NH DOT presentation re Lyme-Thetford bridge
Tuesday November 29
  • 11:30 am – 12:00 pm School Visit - The Mountain School
Wednesday November 30
Thursday December 1
Friday December 2
  • 1:30 pm – 2:55 pm Poetry Slam
Saturday December 3
  • All Day Varsity Girls Scrimmage @ Fair Haven
Sunday December 4
Monday December 5
Tuesday December 6
  • 5:30 pm – 6:30 pm JV Girls Basketball Scrimmage vs MMU
  • 6:45 pm – 8:30 pm TA Board of Trustees Monthly Meeting
    TA Board of Trustees Monthly Meeting
    6:45 pm – 8:30 pm
  • 7:00 pm – 8:00 pm Varsity Girls Basketball Scrimmage vs MMU
Wednesday December 7
  • All Day Half Day {12:10 dismissal}
  • 12:15 pm – 2:55 pm Intensive Office Hours Session
  • 5:30 pm – 6:30 pm JV Boys Basketball Scrimmage @ WRVS
  • 7:00 pm – 8:00 pm Varsity Boys Basketball Scrimmage @ WRVS
Thursday December 8
  • 6:30 pm – 7:45 pm Winter Concert
    Winter Concert
    6:30 pm – 7:45 pm

    Performers include students in Chorus & Instrumental Music classes.

Friday December 9
  • 5:00 pm – 6:00 pm Varsity Boys Basketball Scrimmage vs TSA
  • 7:30 pm – 9:30 pm Holiday Dance (MS & HS)
    Holiday Dance (MS & HS)
    7:30 pm – 9:30 pm

    Hosted by the 9th grade class, open to all grades.
    Tickets are $5.

Saturday December 10
Sunday December 11
Monday December 12
Tuesday December 13
  • 5:30 pm – 6:30 pm JV Girls Basketball @ White River Valley
  • 7:00 pm – 8:00 pm V Girls Basketball @ White River Valley
Wednesday December 14
  • 8:00 am – 12:00 pm A Taste of TA-First Branch 8th Grade (tentative)
  • 5:30 pm – 6:30 pm JV Boys Basketball @ Oxbow
  • 7:00 pm – 8:00 pm V Boys Basketball @ Oxbow
Thursday December 15
  • 5:30 pm – 6:30 pm JV Girls Basketball @ Rivendell
  • 7:00 pm – 8:00 pm V Girls Basketball @ Rivendell
Friday December 16
  • 5:30 pm – 6:30 pm JV Boys Basketball @ BMU
  • 7:00 pm – 8:00 pm V Boys Basketball @ BMU
Saturday December 17
Sunday December 18
Monday December 19
Tuesday December 20
Wednesday December 21
Thursday December 22
Friday December 23
Saturday December 24
Sunday December 25
Monday December 26
Tuesday December 27
Wednesday December 28
Thursday December 29
Friday December 30
Saturday December 31

our VALUES

Excellence

We set high expectations. we challenge all members of the school community to reach their highest potential.

Commitment

We value initiative, courage and dedication. We take personal responsibility for the goals we set and work hard to achieve them.

Cooperation

We work and learn together. We see teachers as coaches, students as team members, families as partners, and learning as practice and action.

Caring

We provide individuals with personalized support and guidance. We care about each other and the larger community.

Diversity

We respect differences among people. We welcome the contribution of varied perspectives to a rich and flexible school culture.